Voices of Change performs, celebrates and encourages new chamber music in North Texas. We are the Southwest’s premiere professional chamber music ensemble dedicated to the performance of the music of our time. Now in its 43rd year, Voices of Change fills a unique niche in the music world by performing small ensemble works by 20th and 21st century composers. Our mission is to encourage and support musical creativity and imagination.


Founded in 1974 by pianist Jo Boatright and clarinetist Ross Powell, Voices of Change is one of the longest-lived and most distinguished new music ensembles in the United States. In 1999, Voices of Change was a finalist for the prestigious Grammy Award for Best Performance by a Small Classical Ensemble, a first for any Dallas/Fort Worth area chamber music ensemble. Voices of Change has been awarded the annual ASCAP Award for Adventuresome Programming an unprecedented five times and has recorded LPs and CDs on the CRI, Crystal, Innova, Albany, Centaur, and Redwood labels.


The artists are first-tier professional musicians playing music written by well-known and up-and-coming professional composers. The music of living composers is challenging and requires the skill and dedication of accomplished classical musicians to be played.


Voices of Change has presented over 75 world premieres, performed music by over 300 composers, and made numerous recordings. Voices of Change is also dedicated to commissioning new works and recording them. The ensemble co-produces an annual young composers competition to introduce and support the music of promising college and high-school composers.

Board of Directors Arend J. Koch, President Donna Williams, Secretary Lawson Malnory, Treasurer Francisco Millet (on leave) LeAnn Binford Ex-Officio Maria Schleuning, Artistic Director Sue Latham, Executive Director Interns Braydon Giangiulio Sam Cooper The Ensemble Helen Blackburn, flute Paul Garner, clarinet Maria Schleuning,violin Barbara Sudweeks, viola Kari Nostbakken Kettering, cello Jeffrey Hood, cello Drew Lang, percussion Virginia Dupuy, mezzo-soprano Liudmila Georgievskaya, piano

Cool Classical